History of Quezon City

Quezon City was created on October 12, 1939 by virtue of Commonwealth Act 502. It became the capital of the Philippines with the enactment of Republic Act No. 333 on July 17, 1948. In 1975, Quezon City became part of the larger urban governance scheme that is Metro Manila, with the creation of the Metropolitan Manila Commission by virtue of Presidential Decree 824. On July 24, 1976, then President Ferdinand E, Marcos issued Presidential Decree No. 940, conferring the role of the nation's capital to Metro Manila, hence the name National Capital Region.

President Quezon himself served as the city's first Mayor and he later appointed Tomas Morato to the position. A long line of distinguished Mayors succeeded Morato in the stewardship of the city as follows: Ponciano Bernardo, Nicanor Roxas, Ignacio Santos Diaz, Norberto Amoranto, Adelina Rodriguez, Brigido Simon, Jr., Ishmael Mathay, Jr. and the incumbent Feliciano Belmonte, Jr,

While relatively a young City, great events that shaped the nation's course of history took place in fabled lands now part of Quezon City territory. The National Centennial Commission, tasked to spearhead appropriate commemoration of 100 years of Philippine Independence, has included Quezon City in the "FreedomTrail" highlighting places and important events in the struggle for freedom and sovereignty, including the historic "Cry of Pugad Lawin" led by the Great Plebeian, revolutionary hero Andres Bonifacio on August 23, 1896, the People Power Revolution in EDSA that toppled the regime of President Ferdinand E. Marcos and the installation of Corazon Aquino, as the 11th President of the Philippines.

Historical Highlights

Following is a collage of important dates and historical events about the City.

August 23,1896 - Bonifacio and his men tear their cedulas at Pugad Lawin and ignites the Filipino Revolution against the Spain.

October 10, 1938 - The People's Homesite Corp. purchases 1,529 hectares from the vast Diliman Estate of the Tuason Family as site of the future capital city.

September 28, 1939 - The National Assembly approves Bill No. 1206 proposing the creation of Quezon City.

October 12, 1939 - Pres. Quezon signs into law Commonwealth Act No. 502, officially establishing Quezon City, and assumes the position of Mayor in a concurrent capacity.

November 10,1939 - Tomas Morato is sworn into Office as Mayor of Quezon City.

March 11, 2003 - Assemblyman Guillermo Villanueva of Negros Oriental files a bill seeking to make Quezon City the seat of government of the Philippines.

December 17, 1945 - Pres. Osmena issues Proclamation No.32 launching the nationwide campaign to raise funds for the erection of a national monument in honor of Pres. Quezon.

January 1, 1946 - Ponciano Bernardo is appointed by Pres. Osmena as Mayor of Quezon City

July 17, 1948 - Republic Act No. 333 slices Baesa, Talipapa, San Bartolome, Pasong Tamo, Novaliches, Banlat, Kabuyao, Pugad Lawin, Bagbag, Pasong Putik and other areas for Caloocan and cedes them to Quezon City.

February 4, 1954 - Pres. Magsaysay formally appoints Norberto S. Amoranto as acting Mayor of Quezon City.

June 16, 1956 - Republic Act 1575 is passed in the third session of the third Congress of the Philippines, amending and repealing certain sections of Quezon City. This law radically changes the geographic composition of the City.

November 30,1972 - The 1971 Constitution Convention is signed in Quezon City.

March 31, 1976 - Adelina Rodriguez succeeds Norberto S. Amoranto as Mayor of Quezon City.

March 31, 1978 - Pres. Marcos declares 1978 as Manuel L. Quezon Centennial Year.

January 1980 - In the first local elections after martial law, Adelina Rodriguez and Stephen Santo are elected mayor and vice mayor, respectively.

February 22-25,1986 - Quezon City is a site of the EDSA "People Power Revolution."

February 2, 1988 - Brigido Simon Jr., and Vicente Sotto are sworn into office as duly elected mayor and vice mayor, respectively.

October 12, 1989 - Quezon City celebrates its Golden Jubilee.

July 1, 1992 - Ishmael A. Mathay Jr., is elected mayor with Charito Planas as vice mayor.

May 8, 1995 - The people of Quezon City gives Mathay another mandate . Herbert Bautista is elected vice mayor.

May 11, 1998 - Mayor Mathay is again re-elected for his third and final term. His running mate Connie Angeles is elected vice mayor.

July 1, 2001 - Feliciano Belmonte Jr., assumes office as elected mayor with Herbert Bautista as vice mayor.

Source: Quezon City Government


History 7738824720603472323



To post articles, please contact us at pinoykodotcom@gmail.com. Thank you!

Blog Archive